Well, I decided to get on my treadmill today, much to my grandson CJ's delight. I had set his booster seat on top of his dog's kennel, so he decided that was a good perch from which to spectate. He was cheering me on saying, "Go Grandma, Go Grandma! After about 15 minutes he said, "I think you're gettin' skinnier, Grandma!
Wow! You can't ask for much more motivation than that. Of course he was talking to me the entire time, while I was trying to listen to a CD, but that's okay. After my half hour was done, he seemed a bit disappointed that I wasn't "skinny" yet, but then I explained to him that Grandma had to walk on the treadmill every day for a long time, and THEN she would be skinny. He looked at me and said, "I think you're a LITTLE bit skinnier, Grandma." What a sweetheart. I think I'll keep him around for a while.
Wednesday, January 7, 2009
My Personal Trainer/Cheerleader
Posted by Grandma J at 10:26 PM 4 comments
Labels: CJ, cute kids, Exercise, Grandkids, weight loss
Happy 6th Birthday, ALEX!!!
Alex, I hope you have a super 6th birthday, and that you enjoy the Christmas and birthday presents that Grandpa Ray and Grandma J sent you! Maybe Daddy or Mom will let you call Grandma one of these days so we can chat again. We're sending you lots of ((((HUGS)))) and kisses *****! WE LOVE YOU and MISS YOU very much.
Maybe his Dad will bring Alex to Minnesota for a visit in March, when Jeremy turns the big 3-0!!! Boy does THAT make me feel OLD!
Posted by Grandma J at 8:11 AM 2 comments
Monday, January 5, 2009
Can You Find The Treadmill in This Picture?

Well, I straightened out my laundry room/home gym/dog kennel so that I could get to my treadmill and dusted it off, (literally). It's working, sort of. The only problem is, it seems to have a mind of its own sometimes. It speeds up and slows down when it wants to. I don't understand why, but I'm going to try to use it anyway. It's the only thing I've got right here and now.

By the way, I did not go and weigh in at Weight Watchers tonight. I really couldn't have even if I'd wanted to. As I said, my van's out of commission, and Jessica's car doesn't start either sometimes when it's -10. She woulda had to give me a ride, because this grandma doesn't know how to drive a stick. Ray wasn't home from work yet either, so I was kinda stranded. Those are all great excuses, right?
Posted by Grandma J at 11:56 PM 2 comments
Sunday, January 4, 2009
I'll (Re)-Start My Diet and Exercise Plan On Monday
I've done it again. I've put back ON a few pounds. But now that the holidays are officially over, and since tomorrow is the first MONDAY of the year, I'm going to get serious about this whole weight loss thing again. I've got to find me some kind of exercise to do though.
The new weight loss book that I'm reading says that the first week I have to establish an exercise routine. I need to exercise for 30 minutes a day, 5 days (in a row), per week. NO EXCUSES! They recommend:
- Basketball (where would I play basketball?)
- Bike Riding (it's -10 degrees outside, and the ground is covered with snow)
- Cross -country skiing machine (I don't have one)
- Dancing (yeah, right)
- Elliptical machine ( my mother has one of these, but lives over an hour away)
- Jogging/running (see bike riding note)
- Kick boxing (don't make me laugh)
- Racquetball (I can't afford it and don't know where there is a racquetball court around here)
- Spinning class (Apparently, this is a class in riding a stationary bike. see above note for excuse)
- Stair climber ( I don't have one, but I guess I could climb actual stairs)
- Stair stepper ( see above note)
- Stationary bike/recumbent bike (I don't own one of these either)
- Step arobics (I May be able to find a dvd for this, and something to use for a step?)
- Swimming (If I only had an indoor pool, the bathtub isn't big enough)
- Tennis (almost as funny as me dancing or kick boxing, also, there's that below zero thing)
- Walking -My treadmill is in need of repair and I can't afford to get it fixed. It's below zero outside, and the roads are covered with ice. I don't feel like walking out there, brrrrrrrr.)
I can't afford to join a gym, and right now my van is also in dire need of repair, so I couldn't drive to one anyway. That's only because it is finally paid for, they always die right after you get them paid for, right? I guess I could run up and down my multi-colored stairs, but they're so steep that it hurts my hips every time I walk up them, so I can't see myself enjoying that either.
You may think I'm just making up excuses here...but I'm not. I'm truly wracking my brain trying to think of something I can do. I THINK I may have some exercise dvd's that I got from McDonald's, back when they used to give them out with an adult "Happy Meal". I'll have to go and check that out. Let me know if you have any wonderful exercises dvd's that I could possibly borrow, or some ideas on what I can do. No Lisa, I refuse to try your "Flirty Girl" exercises, or anything else that might require the use of a pole!
Posted by Grandma J at 6:30 PM 3 comments
Labels: excuses, Exercise, Monday, weight loss
Saturday, January 3, 2009
Football Phobia ~ How Do I Escape???
I learned a little while ago, that much to my dismay, the Vikings game WILL be televised tomorrow. I was really hoping for a blackout, although if that would have happened, I'd probably be subjected to listening to the stupid thing on the radio, which would be even worse. Can you tell that I HATE FOOTBALL?
I was not born with the "sports gene" I guess. I do not EVER think about whether or not "we" will win . First of all, "we" are not even playing the game, how can "we" win? I don't care. It doesn't affect my life one way or another. I've tried to like it, but I cannot make myself. Sports do not exist in my world.
So, now I'm trying to figure out where I can go, or what I can do to avoid the whole football game thing tomorrow. If I had any extra money, I'd go shopping...but I don't. Besides that, we're supposed to get a bunch of snow tonight, so the roads will not be fun to drive on. Another problem is, that when I've tried shopping in the past, to avoid the Stupid Bowl for instance, I've walked into Wal*mart and they've had the game playing over the store's speakers. They said it was for the customers' benefit. Yeah, right. If any of the customers cared about the game, they would be HOME watching it and filling their faces with pretzels and beer. No one was holding a gun to their heads making them shop. I'm pretty sure it was for the employees that HAD to be there. But then I also recall a time when I was working at a grocery store, and HAD to be there, that they were broadcasting some play-off game there over the speakers. I felt like a prisoner being subjected to listening to sports while I worked. I remember telling the manager that those were unfair working conditions and threatening to walk out.
I suppose I could go to a movie, but again...I'd probably have to brave dangerous road conditions. Oh well, anybody else got any great ideas for me? As I sit and write this, I'm starting to realize that I have more than a hate for football...I'm thinking it's a football phobia!
Posted by Grandma J at 6:14 PM 2 comments
Friday, January 2, 2009
Resolutions For 2009
I hadn't really thought much about making any official New Year's resolutions, but there are a couple that come to mind. I had sincerely thought that I would have lost a LOT more weight by this time, when I started on my journey 9 months ago. I guess the first one would be to just get back on program, and try to lose a substantial amount by April 1, which will be one year back on WW. I realize I have lost quite a bit...but I've not really been trying very hard lately, and have been to that "almost 40 lbs off" point for waaayyy too long.
One of the other things I'd like to try to do, is read the entire bible in a year. I have several reading plans that I can use, I just have to decide which one, and start it TONIGHT, since I kinda forgot about it yesterday and it is already the second day of the year.
Other than that, I'm just going to resolve to be the best me that I can be, meaning I'm going to strive to be a better wife, mother, grandmother, friend, daughter, sister...whatever. There's a LOT of room for improvement in most of these roles that I play. Pray for me.
Posted by Grandma J at 7:28 PM 2 comments
Thursday, January 1, 2009
Wordless Wednesday # 18 ~ Special Thursday Edition
HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Posted by Grandma J at 1:05 PM 5 comments
Graphics and Myspace Layouts at pYzam.com
For Word Nerds Only
caustic | |
| Definition: | Of a substance, especially a strong acid; capable of destroying or eating away by chemical action. |
| Synonyms: | corrosive, erosive, mordant, vitriolic |
|
“I'm very brave generally,” he went on in a low voice: “only today I happen to have a headache.”
Lewis Carroll (1832-1898) |

